February lady sweater

My parents gave me some lovely Fleece Artist Blue Face Leicester DK for Christmas:

Mahogany

(That’s in the colorway “Mahogany” in case you’re curious.)

So I decided to jumped on the band-wagon and knit pamela wynne’s February Lady Sweater. (Rav link to my version!) This is a very popular pattern, much knitted and loved. And I can see why: in addition to being free (always a plus), it’s well-written and results in a beautiful, wearable sweater. As with all of my favorite patterns, there was enough variation in the knitting to keep me interested, but not so much that I got frustrated and put it down. The main pattern is a simple lace repeat,

Gull lace pattern

the Gull Lace Pattern, that’s somewhat addicting to work. Once you finish one row, you want to work the next one just to see the lace continue.

My sweater is blocking as I type; the last step is to go find some buttons and sew them on. With any luck I’ll be wearing it next week!

Feb lady sweater blocking

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

