One design of mine, and one of someone else’s

I’ve been working on a few new designs lately. For me, the process of designing a knitting pattern is far from a linear one. Sometimes I’ll have an idea of a specific type of object that I’d like to create, sometimes I’ll be captivated by a particular cable or stitch pattern, and sometimes a yarn will intrigue me to the extent that I want to design something that will highlight the positive characteristics of that yarn in particular. My latest, still-in-progress design is an example of the last situation in that list. Because of where I’ve been working this summer, I’ve been able to get up-close-and-personal with some beautiful qiviut yarns. So I wanted to create a pattern designed specifically for lace-weight qiviut yarn. After contemplating the many possibilities, I decided to go with a hat – a hat with a simple lace pattern, both to make the yarn go further and because qiviut is so warm that even a lace hat will keep the wearer warm!

Here’s a photo of the work-in-progress:

Qiviut hat

As you can see, I’m knitting it from the top down, so that I can use every bit of yarn – at the base of the hat, I’ll do a ribbed brim until I run out of yarn. At the moment, the hat isn’t much more than the very top of a hat, but when it’s a bit bigger the lace pattern will become apparent.

I’ve also been knitting a sweater for myself, from a pattern that I have long admired, Liesl by Ysolda Teague (here’s the link to my project on Ravelry). So far I’m finding it a delight to knit – which is good, because I’ve had to knit a good portion of it twice! I’m using a slightly different weight of yarn than the pattern calls for, so I chose my needles and what size to follow after some careful swatching, but by the time I got to the top of the armpits (it’s a top-down sweater) and tried it on for the first time, it was obvious that something was wrong. The sweater would have fit me, if I was twice as big as I actually am. Whoops! So distressed was I that I even forgot to document the miles of extra sweater in photographs before I ripped it back, so you’ll just have to believe me. The nice thing about starting over again with smaller needles and following a smaller size is that the knitting really flies by – imagine that, knitting less stitches takes less time!

But as it is a lovely, interesting-but-memorizable pattern, even knitting it over has been a pleasure.

Sweaters-in-progress are hard to photograph in such a way that they make sense, but here you can get a general idea of the stitch pattern:

Liesl in progress

I can’t wait till it’s done and ready to wear! It’s been a bit chilly here in the past few days, so I could use a good cardigan.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “One design of mine, and one of someone else’s

  1. TundraTuckus

    Chilly already?!?

  2. Brooke Kamke

    Emily, you were our tour guide when my family toured the station in the beginning of August. We were the only ones on the tour (for which you did an awesome job by the way) and then I got to see your hat in progress. I’m not stalking you believe or not. Just entering Ingrid’s yarn into my stash on ravelry and you came up. Keep us posted as to how the hat turns out. Haven’t decided what I’m going to knit yet with my fiber. The possibilities are endless!! Will be praying graduate school will soon be a thing of the past for you.

    • Hi Brooke,
      Thanks for checking out the blog, and your kind words regarding the tour you went on. Giving tours is a lot of fun, and it’s always nice to hear that other people enjoy them, too. The hat-in-progress you saw is now complete, just in time to keep me warm as autumn starts to arrive here in Fairbanks. Good luck with your qiviut, I’m sure whatever you decide to make with it will turn out lovely!
      -Emily

  3. Pingback: Knitting a sweater « Emily Benson Designs

  4. Pingback: Green sweater | Emily Benson Designs

Leave a Reply

