Booties are cute, even when they don’t match

See what I mean?

Booties!

After I knit the first one, I thought the pattern might look nice in a different color, so I tried that and liked it, but didn’t want to rip back the first one. So I knit a third to round out the group… as soon as I find some more left over sock yarn, I think I’ll knit a fourth! (These were knit from a delightful quick little pattern by SockPixie, available online for free here.)

In other knitting news, I was so pleased with how my little Herbivore shawl turned out that I decided I should make another little shawl. The search for a pleasant pattern didn’t take very long – I settled on Evelyn Clark’s Swallowtail almost immediately (here it is on Ravelry, and here on her website). So far it’s an interesting pattern and nice to look at, too:

Swallowtail at the beginning

Of course it looks a little frumpy here, as lace always does when you’re knitting it and before you block it. The wonderful transformation that occurs during blocking is one of the best parts of knitting lace, in my opinion. Here’s an up-close shot of the shawl, stretched out a bit so you can get an idea of what it might look like in its final incarnation:

Swallowtail detail

It’s a joy to knit, but I can’t wait to see what it’ll look like when it’s done!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

